Tuesday, January 16, 2018


The late Ilocano writer Reynaldo Duque and Dioniso Bulong were recognized by the National Commission for the Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and Gunglo dagiti Mannurat iti Ilokano (GUMIL) Filipinas for their outstanding accomplishments in Ilocano literature.

Said awarding was part of the 2017 Taboan National Literary festival held in Marand Resort and Spa in Bauang, La Union from November 27 to 29.

“This is the first time that the Taboan Festival was held in Northern Luzon and in La Union and aside from paying tribute to Manuel Arguilla as an acclaimed short story writer, patriot, and guerrilla hero during the World War II, we want to recognize other outstanding writers in the region with contribution in Iloko literature,” Dr. Juliet Mallari, Taboan director, said. 

Duque was a multi-awarded writer from Candon City, Ilocos Sur and a former Carlos Palanca Hall of Fame awardee and a Fellow Outstanding awardee of the GUMIL, both in 2003.

His works include short stories, novels, poems, essays, comics, and radio scripts in Ilocano and in Filipino.

A fictionist, poet, and playwright, he was also elected President of GUMIL Filipinas in 2001-2003 and editor-in-chief for Liwayway magazine.

On one hand, Bulong hails from from Sta. Teresita, Cagayan and is considered one of the most prominent Ilokano novelists.

Majority of his novels were serialized in Filipino and published in Bannawag, an Ilokano literary magazine.  His short stories were included in various anthologies of Ilocano fiction.

Also, part of the program was a tribute for Arguilla wherein a part of his popular short story “How my brother Leon brought home a wife” translated in Ilocano by Constante Casabar, was brought to life when read by Djuna Alcantara of GUMIL- San Fernando City chapter.

Meanwhile, Manuel Diaz who was another local writer who wrote in Iloko and English and penned about the lives of Ilocano people, was also recognized by the local chapter of GUMIL.

Apart from the awards presented by GUMIL Filipinas represented by Allysa Gaspar, the NCCA National Commission for Literary Arts (NCLA) also presented three posthumous awards to their members namely Lilia Realubit, Carlos Arejola, and Francis Macansantos.

Several writers’ prizes were also awarded during the Governor’s Night held at Diego Silang hall in the La Union provincial capitol.

Said festival was attended by more than 60 national and local writers from all over the country. Walk-in participants from the province also joined the activities.  # Source -  (JNPD/JDS/PIA1, La Union)

No comments:

Post a Comment