Monday, March 21, 2016


The government's “Lakbay Alalay” program was activated to assist motorists heading to various destination points in the Ilocos for the Holy Week break from March 21 to March 28.

“Different stations of Lakbay Alalay teams will be in place along major thoroughfares in the region where influx of motorists are expected,” Esperanza Tinaza, information officer of the Department of Public Works Highway-Region 1(DPWH-1), said.

Each team that is composed of concerned government agencies to include the Land Transportation Office (LTO), Philippine National Police (PNP) and local government units (LGU) will be on stand-by to give necessary assistance that maybe required.

Through the program, field personnel will also be instructed to ensure that all road sections are well maintained and free of potholes, proper traffic signages and clear warning signs will be installed along all on-going construction projects in the region and pavement markings must be reflectorized to guide night driving motorists.

“Motorists will easily identify our field personnel by their prescribed DPWH uniform or PDWH orange T-shirt,” said Tinaza.

She added that all district maintenance engineers are instructed to remove obstructions along road-right-of-way on national roads and bridges.

In Ilocos Norte, the Lakbay Alalay teams will be located at the Manila North Road (MNR) Bacarra and Burgos; Baduang Section, Pagudpud; MNR San Nicolas town proper; Batac City; MNR Currimao andBadoc; and in front of the DPWH Second District Engineering Office (DEO) at San Pablo, San Nicolas.

In Ilocos Sur, the first DEO team will be installed at the MNR Bantay and Magsingal while for the second DEO will be positioned along the MNR of Narvacan and Candon City proper.

Further, the DPWH La Union First DEO team will be stationed at the MNR stretch from San Fernando City to Sudipen town and for the DPWH Second DEO, the teams will be seen along the MNR of Agoo, Caba, and the roads along Agoo-Baguio City (Tubao and Pugo Section), Caba-Bauang, Rosario-Pugo and Bauang-Baguio City roads.

Meanwhile in Pangasinan where four district engineering offices are located, more Lakbay Alalay teams will be visible.  

The first DEO team will be at the Pangasinan-Zambales Road and Alaminos City proper. For the second DEO, teams will be stationed at Guibel, San Jacinto Section along Mangaldan-Manaoag-Binalonan Road, Second Section at Pangasinan-Tarlac Road, Manat Section along Pangasinan-Zambales Road, and at thePangasinan-La Union Road and Dagupan City National Roads. The third DEO team will be at the MNR along Carmen-Rosales, Binalonan (Poblacion) and at the Pangasinan-Nueva-Viscaya Road (Sta Maria Section) and lastly, the fourth DEO will be situated along the Urdaneta Junction-Dagupan Road,Villasis-Malasiqui-San Carlos Road,Camiling-Wawa-Bayambang-Malasiqui-Sta Barbara Road; Carmen Junction-Bayambang-San Carlos – Manat Road. # Source - (MCA/  Joanne Namnama P. Dilim
 /PIA-1 La Union with reports from DPWH).

No comments:

Post a Comment